Japan is divided into 11 regions. These regions are further divided into 47 prefectures. Our list starts from the most northern part of Japan (Hokkaido) and ends with the most southern (Okinawa).

This page contains detailed information on each of the prefectures.

Note: Please give the Flash time to load — Click on any prefecture to hear the Prefecture and Capital City

About the Prefectures:
Japan is divided into a total of 47 parts. However, they are not all called ken (prefecture). Of the 47, 43 are called “ken” — (prefecture). 2 are called ‘fu’ (Osaka & Kyoto). 1 is called “do” (Hokkai DO). 1 is called ‘to’ (Tokyo to)

Download the Prefecture map as a PDF

To remember it Japanese children learn the following poem:

itto, ichi dou | ni fu | yonjuu san ken
one “to,” one “do” | 2 “fu” | 43 “ken”

Sharing is Caring...

Join our two TheJapanShop.com email lists for freebies, exclusive coupons, and the latest information.

Kanji Girl

Get your copy of Kanji 100 (eBook) for FREE!

Super Suiyoubi

Get Super Suiyoubi once-a-week sale

Polish your Japanese!

Get your FREE email courses, or Be A Patron.